Valdosta City School District

Skip to main content

Special Education

Valdosta City Schools Special Education Department  

Special Education is a service which supports children 3 – 21 years of age who meet eligibility guidelines in the following areas: Autism, Deaf/Blind, Deaf/Hard of Hearing, Emotional Behavioral Disorder, Intellectual Disability, Orthopedic Impairment, Other Health Impaired, Significantly Developmentally Delayed, Speech/Language Impairment, Traumatic Brain Injury, and Visual Impairment. Special Education services are provided in all school systems in Georgia and are free of charge to parents.

A student may be eligible to receive services in one or more of the following categories:

  • Autism
  • Deaf/Blind
  • Deaf/Hard Hearing
  • Emotional Behavior Disorder
  • Intellectual Disability
  • Orthopedic Impairment
  • Other Health Impairment
  • Significantly Developmentally Delayed
  • Specific Learning Disability
  • Speech Language Impairment
  • Traumatic Brain Injury
  • Visual Impairment

It is the belief of the Valdosta City Schools System that students with disabilities shall be provided with real and valid opportunities to learn through the use of research-based instruction, supportive services, supplemental aids and supports, including ongoing training for teachers, in order to ensure that all students have an opportunity to learn and demonstrate what they know. If you suspect that your child may have a disability, please contact the Valdosta City Schools Special Education Department.

Special education programs need to be individualized to meet the needs of the given student. Students with special needs are assessed to determine their specific strengths and weaknesses. A student’s goals and services are determined on the basis of the student’s need.

For more information or for necessary paperwork, please click here to download the Implementation Manual for Special Education of the Georgia Department of Education, Divisions for Special Education Services and Supports.

Special Education Rules for the State of Georgia

 

Special Education Rules Implementation Manual - Part I

 

Special Education Rules Implementation Manual - Part II

Beth Cooper
Special Ed Coordinator
bcooper@gocats.org

 

Anne McLeod
Special Ed Coordinator
amcleod@gocats.org

 

Pam Peters
Special Ed Coordinator
ppeters@gocats.org

 

Wanda Rice
Special Ed Coordinator
wrice@gocats.org  

 

Contina Smith
Special Ed Case Manager

csmith@gocats.org 

 

Courtney Evans
Due Process Coordinator
cevans@gocats.org 

 

Clara Orr
Due Process Coordinator
corr@gocats.org

 

Brenda Jones
Secretary
bjones@gocats.org 

 

Mark Prain
Special Education Technology Specialist
mprain@gocats.org


Dr. Vakesha Mays
Director of Special Education
1204 Williams St.
Valdosta, GA 31602
p (229) 333-8505
f (229) 333-8598
vmays@gocats.org 
Laura Diaz
Asst. Director of Special Education
(229) 333-8505
ldiaz@gocats.org