Valdosta City School District

Skip to main content VCS EMPLOYEES - Open Enrollment 2020 begins at midnight on October 21, and will close at 11:59 p.m. on November 8, 2019

Program for Exceptional Children

Valdosta City Schools - Program for Exceptional Children   

Special Education is a service which supports children 3 – 21 years of age who meet eligibility guidelines in the following areas: Autism, Deaf/Blind, Deaf/Hard of Hearing, Emotional Behavioral Disorder, Intellectual Disability, Orthopedic Impairment, Other Health Impaired, Significantly Developmentally Delayed, Speech/Language Impairment, Traumatic Brain Injury, and Visual Impairment. Special Education services are provided in all school systems in Georgia and are free of charge to parents.

A student may be eligible to receive services in one or more of the following categories:

  • Autism
  • Deaf/Blind
  • Deaf/Hard Hearing
  • Emotional Behavior Disorder
  • Intellectual Disability
  • Orthopedic Impairment
  • Other Health Impairment
  • Significantly Developmentally Delayed
  • Specific Learning Disability
  • Speech Language Impairment
  • Traumatic Brain Injury
  • Visual Impairment
 

It is the belief of the Valdosta City Schools System that students with disabilities shall be provided with real and valid opportunities to learn through the use of research-based instruction, supportive services, supplemental aids and supports, including ongoing training for teachers, in order to ensure that all students have an opportunity to learn and demonstrate what they know. If you suspect that your child may have a disability, please contact the Valdosta City Schools Program for Exceptional Children.

Special education programs need to be individualized to meet the needs of the given student. Students with special needs are assessed to determine their specific strengths and weaknesses. A student’s goals and services are determined on the basis of the student’s need.

Jessica Barnes
Program for Exceptional Children Compliance Coordinator
jbarnes@gocats.org

 

Christina Murray
Program for Exceptional Children Compliance Coordinator
christina.murray@gocats.org

 

Lisa Sharper
Program for Exceptional Children Compliance Coordinator
lsharper@gocats.org

 

Melissa Johnson
Teacher of the Deaf/Hard of Hearing
Teacher of the Visually Impaired

mjohnson@gocats.org

 

Contina Smith
Program for Exceptional Children Case Manager

Parent Mentor

csmith@gocats.org 

 

Courtney Evans
Due Process Coordinator
cevans@gocats.org 

 

Clara Orr
Due Process Coordinator
corr@gocats.org

 

Brenda Jones
Secretary
bjones@gocats.org 

 

Mark Prain
Program for Exceptional Children Technology Specialist
mprain@gocats.org

 


Dr. Vakesha Mays
Director of Program for Exceptional Children
1204 Williams St.
Valdosta, GA 31602
p (229) 333-8505
f (229) 333-8598
vmays@gocats.org 
Laura Diaz
Asst. Director of Program for Exceptional Children
(229) 333-8505
ldiaz@gocats.org