VHS College Board Scholars

Seventeen Valdosta High School students have earned academic honors from the College Board National Recognition Programs.  College Board's four recognition programs—National African American Recognition Program, National Hispanic Recognition Program, National Indigenous Recognition Program and National Rural and Small Town Recognition Program—award academic honors to underrepresented students. Eligible students have a minimum GPA of 3.5 and have excelled on the PSAT/NMSQT or PSAT 10, or earned a score of 3 or higher on two or more AP Exams, and are African American or Black, Hispanic American or Latinx, or Indigenous, and/or attend high school in a rural area or small town. 

Nyla Cook, Joshua Jackson, and Jaylen Wing were recognized as National African American Recognition Program Scholars. Brayden Anderson, Jeffrey Barnett, Rhalyn Burton, Sarah Byram, Erin Halter, Megan Halter, Alina Lasseter, Matthew Litster, Alden Myddelton, Greha Patel, Meghan Patel, Kerry Smith, and Kate Woodward were selected as National Rural and Small Town Honorees.  Roberto Montiel received both the National Hispanic Recognition Award and the National Rural and Small Town Award. 

“We want to honor the hard work of these students through the College Board National Recognition Programs. This program creates a way for colleges and scholarship programs to connect directly with underrepresented students who they are hoping to reach,” said Tarlin Ray, College Board senior vice president of BigFuture. “We hope the award winners and their families celebrate this prestigious honor and it helps them plan for their big future.”